Atholl Clasp

The Atholl Clasp was born out of the Millennium Champions Challenge. Overall dancing winners were presented with a brooch and also at the event Miss Jessie Stewart Haggarty MBE, a founder member of the Board, became the first recipient of the Atholl Clasp. The Atholl Dancing Association also had clasps for the two remaining founder members of the Board, Miss Cissie Tucker and Miss Mary Lindsay.

The Atholl Dancing Association wanted the memory of this friendly event to live on through the presentation of “The Atholl Clasp”. The award is given to people within the dancing community who have served their sport extremely well. The recipients have given their lives to Highland Dancing. Nominations are given to the Board each year and the Office Bearers select the recipient.


Past recipients of the Award

2000 Jessie Stewart Haggarty MBE
2000 Cissie Tucker
2000 Mary Lindsay
2001 Evelyn McLaren
2002 Margaret Todd
2003 Marjory Rowan
2004 Adeline Duncan
2005 Jean Ritchie
2006 Heather Jolley
2007 Sheena McDonald MBE
2008 Wilma Tolmie
2009 Billy Forsyth MBE
2010 Sandra Bald Jones
2011 Iain Macdonald
2012 Irene McKechnie
2013 Celia Orr MBE
2014 Frances Paterson BEM
2015 Shendl Russell BEM
2016 Elizabeth McLauchlan
2017 Betty Sutherland
2018 Christine Aitken
2019 Christine Lacey MBE
2020 Jean Swanston
2021 Aileen Robertson
2022 Betty Turkington
2023 Flora Grubb




Item added to cart.
0 items - £0.00